Under their parliamentary system of representation, based on a "constitution similar in principle to that of the United Kingdom", the people of Canada elect representatives having various political party affiliation as shown in Table 10. In a general election, the Canadian electorate not only determines what political party leader shall be called on to form the Government of the day, but it also decides which of the parties is to become the Official Opposition. Her Majesty's Loyal Opposition occupies an essential place in constitutions based on the British parliamentary system, in that its function is to oppose or criticize in debate the Government in power—an essential to good government at all times. The Official Opposition is founded, like such institutions as the Cabinet and the Prime Ministership, on unwritten custom that has become firmly established. Although the position of Leader of the Opposition is not recognized in the British North America Act, it received statutory acknowledgment in the Canadian Parliament in 1905 when the Senate and House of Commons Act (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 43, sect. 2) provided an additional sessional allowance to "the member occupying the recognized position of Leader of the Opposition in the House of Commons".

Electoral Districts, Voters on List and Votes Polled, Names and Addresses of Members of the House of Commons as Elected at the Twenty-Third General Election, June 10, 1957 and Revised to Oct. 15, 1957.

 Speaker
 The Hon. Roland Michener

 Prime Minister
 The Rt. Hon. John George Diefenbaker

 Leader of the Opposition
 The Rt. Hon. Louis S. St. Laurent

 Clerk of the House of Commons
 Léon J. Raymond

Note.—The vote is summarized by provinces in Table 12, p. 57. The leaders of the political parties are indicated by asterisks (*). For Parliamentary Assistants, see p. 44. This information, except the population constituencies, has been supplied by the Chief Electoral Officer, Ottawa. Party affiliations are unofficial. P.C.=Progressive Conservative; Lib.=Liberal; C.C.F.=Co-operative Commonwealth Federation; S.C.=Social Credit; Ind. Lib.=Independent Liberal; Ind.=Independent; Ind. P.C.=Independent Progressive Conservative; L.Lab.=Liberal Labour.

Province and Electoral District	Population, Census 1956	Voters on List	Total Votes Polled	Votes Polled by Mem- ber	Name of Member	P.O. Address	Party Affili- ation
	No.	No.	No.	No.			
Newfoundland— (7 members)	0200 DEFE D					0	* 11
Bonavista-Twillingate. Burin-Burgeo. Grand Falls-White Bay-	48,354 46,362	23,972 18,584		mation	Hon. J. W. Pickersgill. C. W. Carter	St. John's	Lib.
Labrador Humber-St. George's St. John's East St. John's West	71,416 64,683 66,132 62,921	33,656 28,318 32,912 32,139	15,539 15,499 19,647 19,490	11,681 10,272 10,312 10,539	T. G. W. ASHBOURNE H. M. BATTEN J. A. McGrath Hon. W. J. BROWNE	Corner Brook St. John's	P.C.
Trinity-Conception	55,206	27,658	12,106	8,360	L. T. STICK	Bay Roberts	Lib.
Prince Edward Island— (4 members) Kings Prince Queens	17,853 38,007 43,425	10,177 19,213 24,834	8,902 16,463 41,853	4,598 8,119 {11,597 10,651	J. A. MacDonald O. H. Phillips Hon. J. A. MacLean H. MacQuarrie.	Alberton Beaton's Mills	P.C. P.C. P.C. P.C.
Nova Scotia— (12 members) Antigonish-							
Guysborough Cape Breton North and	26,878	14,654	11,966	6,053	A. R. MACDONALD	Antigonish	P.C.
Victoria. Cape Breton South. Colchester-Hants. Cumberland. Digby-Annapolis-Kings	46,874 83,152 59,529 39,598	23,985 43,360 33,640 22,815 38,642	19,724 37,056 28,440 18,577 32,153	9,097 14,894 15,231 10,065 18,534	C. F. KENNEDY R. C. COATES Hon, G. C. NOWLAN	Wolfville	P.C. P.C. P.C. P.C.
Halifax	197,943	108,433	163,067	141,141 141,099	R. McCleave E. Morris	Birch Cove Halifax	P.C.
Inverness-Richmond Pictou Queens-Lunenburg Shelburne-Yarmouth-	44.566	18,925 25,470 29,372	15,305 22,521 24,620	8,035 12,208 12,372	A. J. MACEACHEN R. MACEWAN L. R. CROUSE	Inverness New Glasgow	Lib. P.C.
Clare	45,287	25,652	20,701	10,734	T. A. M. Kirk	Yarmouth	Lib.